Which Injuries Qualify for Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Kansas?

Understanding Qualifying Injuries for Kansas Workers’ Compensation

If you were injured at work, you may be able to file a claim to get workers’ compensation benefits. This money can help you pay for medical expenses related to the injury and provide some income if you have to take time off of work to recover. Find out what injuries qualify for workers’ compensation benefits in the state of Kansas and what you need to do to pursue a claim.

Qualifying Injuries

In general, any injury that was sustained in the course of your normal work activities or that happened at your place of work may qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. This can include injuries such as broken bones, burns, and herniated discs, which are common with workplace accidents, as well as repetitive stress injuries, such as carpal tunnel syndrome.

Your Reporting Responsibilities

Under Kansas law, you have certain responsibilities when it comes to reporting an accident and any injuries to your employer. You have 20 days to report your injury to your employer.

Depending on the type of injury, this may start on the date of the accident or the date that you seek treatment for an injury. The latter is more common in situations when the injury is caused by repetitive trauma. If you no longer work for the employer, you must notify them within 10 days of your last working day.

Possible Compensation

If your workers’ compensation claim is approved, you may be able to get up to 66.67% of your average weekly income while you are off of work. However, the state does have a cap on this amount so that it can’t be more than 75% of the average weekly wage in the state of Kansas.

This number can fluctuate, so it’s important to speak with an attorney who can let you know what your benefit amount may be so you can prepare accordingly. You may also be able to receive reimbursement for any medical expenses that you incurred as a result of your injury.

How an Attorney Can Help

Workers’ compensation laws can be complex, and your employer may try to deny your claim by saying that the injury didn’t happen while you were at work or that it was sustained because you were negligent in following the company’s safety procedures. Working with an attorney means you have someone working on your behalf so you can focus on recovery.

If you were injured on the job, call Mann Wyatt Tanksley Injury Attorneys at (877) 768-2400. We understand how hard it can be to face medical expenses and time off of work as you recover from your injuries. From filing a workers’ compensation claim to fighting a denial of benefits, our legal team can help you get the money you deserve.