Since 1999, our firm has advocated for the interests of hardworking people in Wichita and across Kansas. With over 50 years of combined legal experience, our attorneys have extensive insight into personal injury and workers’ compensation law. We know your case is about more than financial recovery, which is why we will work hard to safeguard your quality of life and peace of mind.
Reach out to Mann Wyatt Tanksley Injury Attorneys for a free initial consultation with a Wichita workers’ compensation lawyer. We are ready to advocate for the full benefits you are entitled to under the Kansas workers’ compensation law.
Kansas Workers’ Compensation Laws
In Kansas, the workers’ compensation system provides employees with defined financial benefits for suffering an injury or illness in the course of their employment. The Kansas Department of Labor’s Workers’ Compensation Division administers the workers’ compensation law. However, an injured worker’s employer pays the benefits through their private workers’ compensation insurance, a group-funded pool, or a state-approved self-insurance program.
Most employers must provide workers’ comp benefits for their staff, although certain employers are excluded from this requirement. All covered employees may receive workers’ compensation, no matter how long they have worked for their employer. Eligible employees include part-time, seasonal, and teen workers. Volunteers and independent contractors are ineligible for workers’ comp benefits.
Most Common Workplace Injuries in Kansas
Injuries commonly suffered by workers in Kansas include:
- Degloving injuries
- Perforation injuries
- Bone fractures
- Sprains and tears
- Spinal disc injuries
- Nerve damage
- Dislocated joints
- Repetitive stress injuries
- Vision or hearing loss
- Facial injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries (TBIs)
- Crush injuries
- Infections by bacteria or infectious diseases
- Toxic exposure
- Chronic health conditions
- Internal organ injuries and bleeding
- Spinal cord injuries and paralysis
- Traumatic amputation
What to Do After a Workplace Injury
Taking the following steps after suffering an injury on the job in Wichita can protect your right to benefits:
- Report your work injury to your employer as soon as possible.
- Take photos and videos of the scene of the workplace accident.
- Talk to any co-workers or eyewitnesses who may have witnessed your injury.
- Seek prompt medical attention, and be sure to let your doctor know you are seeking treatment for a work injury.
- Keep copies of bills or invoices of medical expenses you incur.
- Gather your pay stubs or income records if you miss work due to your injury.
- Contact a Wichita workers’ compensation attorney to learn more about your legal rights and get help seeking benefits from your employer.
How to File for Workers’ Compensation in Kansas
To file for workers’ compensation in Kansas, you must first notify your employer of your claim. You must provide notice within 20 calendar days of suffering or seeking medical treatment for a work injury. However, you have 10 days from your last day of work if you no longer work for your employer.
Notice may be provided orally or in writing, although employers may have procedures requiring oral notice to be given to a certain person or department. If the notice is written, it must be sent to a supervisor or manager at the employee’s principal workplace. The notice must include details such as the time, date, and place of the injury and a description of how the injury occurred. The notice should also clearly state that the employee is seeking workers’ compensation benefits or has suffered a work-related injury or illness.
Once you have notified your employer of your work injury or illness, your employer must file a report with its workers’ compensation insurance carrier or its self-insured claims administrator. The insurer must use the state’s electronic data interchange to file a First Report of Injury and any Subsequent Reports of Injury with the Division of Workers’ Compensation.