Understanding the Timeline for a Workers’ Comp Claim in Colorado
Being injured at work is a worst-case scenario, and serious injuries may keep you from returning to your job in the immediate future or at all. If you’ve been injured in an accident at work, find out how long you have to file a claim and what else you need to know.
Notifying the Employer of the Injury
The first step after you’ve been injured on the job is to seek immediate medical treatment, but once your injuries are addressed, you will need to notify your employer that you were injured while working. This should be done in writing and within 10 days of the accident. Failing to notify your employer of your injury in a timely manner can affect your ability to file a claim later on, so it’s important to do everything you can to send your notification within the 10-day time period. However, if it’s already been more than 10 days, you should still go ahead and send the notification.
Colorado Statute of Limitations for Workers’ Comp Cases
In the state of Colorado, workers’ compensation claims must be filed within 2 years of the date of injury to be within the statute of limitations. This ensures that you have time to adequately assess your injuries and their impact on your ability to work and live your life while still ensuring that any claim is filed in a timely manner so the employer can address it. If you have additional questions about the time period for the statute of limitations or how to ensure that you file your claim within that time period, a workers’ compensation attorney can help.
How to File a Workers’ Comp Claim
When you’re ready to file your workers’ comp claim, you will file form WC 15, which is the Workers’ Claim for Compensation form, with the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation.
You must submit your claim in writing through the mail. The form will ask for your name and contact information, as well as information on the company you worked for and your average weekly wage. The form also asks you to describe how and when you were injured. It’s a good idea to discuss your case with an attorney before you fill out the form so that you can accurately and thoroughly describe the accident and the impact of your injuries.
Getting Professional Help
Workers’ compensation cases can be complicated, and we’re here to help. The team at
Mann Wyatt Tanksley Injury Attorneys understands what a difficult time this is for you. We work to ensure that our clients understand what they’re entitled to and how they can file a workers’ compensation claim to access those benefits. Call our office at 877-388-8555 to find out more.