Have you recently been injured in a Kansas, Missouri, Colorado or Oklahoma car accident in which the at-fault driver did not have insurance?
Although most states, including Kansas and Oklahoma, require drivers to have insurance, an alarming number do not. In fact, a study by the Insurance Information Institute found that the number of uninsured American drivers has been rising. In one recent year, as many as 13 percent of drivers or one in eight drivers had no insurance.
Nevertheless, there are usually protections in place for such circumstances. According to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), car insurance laws may require you to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. The purpose of uninsured motorist coverage is to, in the event that the at-fault party in your car accident case does not carry any liability insurance, pay for your medical bills and property damage expenses.
“Uninsured motorists coverage means that part of the premiums you pay for your own insurance would enable you to make a claim with your own insurance company,” said Mike Wyatt, car accident attorney at Mann Wyatt Tanksley Injury Attorneys. “You insurance company will evaluate the claim in exactly the same way.”
Contact Our Car Accident Attorneys Immediately
If you have been injured in a car accident in which the at-fault driver does not have insurance, it is best to inform your insurance carrier immediately. Often, the time for such claims is limited to as little as 30 days. In conjunction with contacting your insurance carrier immediately, it is recommended that you contact our car accident attorneys as soon as possible.
The Mann Wyatt Tanksley Injury Attorneys can help you file for uninsured motorist benefits under your insurance policy and, in the case of unsuccessful negotiations, file and pursue a lawsuit against the insurance company on your behalf.
Request a free consultation with our team of car accident attorneys or contact us directly at (877) 768-2400. We look forward to speaking with you!