If you have recently been injured in a St. Louis, Missouri, car accident in which the driver at fault did not have insurance, this article is for you.
Regardless of the fact that Missouri requires each driver to have a reliable method of payment for the costs of damage or injury to another driver after a car accident, a concerning number of people do not have that ability. A study by the Insurance Information Institute found that the number of uninsured American drivers has been rising. In one recent year, as many as 13 percent of drivers or one in eight drivers had no insurance.
However, there are usually protections in place for such circumstances. According to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Missouri law requires each person to hold uninsured motorists coverage in the event that the at-fault party in your car accident case does not carry any liability insurance.
“Uninsured motorists coverage means that part of the premiums you pay for your own insurance would enable you to make a claim with your own insurance company,” said Mike Wyatt, car accident attorney at Mann, Wyatt & Tanksley Injury Attorneys in St. Louis. “You insurance company will evaluate the claim in exactly the same way.”
Contact Our St. Louis, Missouri, Car Accident Attorneys Immediately
Have you been injured in a St. Louis car accident in which the at-fault driver does not have insurance? If so, it is best to inform the police within 24 hours or less and the insurance company within 30 days. In conjunction with contacting your insurance carrier immediately, it is recommended that you contact our St. Louis car accident attorneys as soon as possible.
The Mann, Wyatt & Tanksley Injury Attorneys in St. Louis can help you file for uninsured motorist benefits under your insurance policy and, in the case of unsuccessful negotiations, file and pursue a lawsuit against the insurance company on your behalf.