What Are the Consequences of Leaving the Scene of an Accident?
Kansas state law stipulates that individuals who leave the scene of the accident can face severe consequences. Individuals who commit a hit-and-run in an accident with severe bodily injury or death may be charged with a Level 5 felony.
If you have been the victim of a hit-and-run accident, you must seek qualified legal representation from a personal injury attorney who can work to help you receive the compensation you deserve.
Misdemeanor: A driver may be charged with a misdemeanor if they leave the scene of an accident resulting in minor personal injuries or property damage.
Felony: A driver may be charged with a felony if they leave the scene of an accident resulting in severe injuries or death.
Property damage of less than $1,000 is considered a traffic infraction and punishable by a fine.
Great bodily injury is considered a Class A misdemeanor, and if convicted, an individual could face up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Great bodily injury or death of another person is considered a Level 6 felony. If convicted, an individual could face up to 18 months in prison in addition to a steep fine imposed by the court.
Knowingly leaving the sense of an accident that resulted in great bodily injury is considered a Level 5 felony. If convicted, an individual could be sentenced to 32 months in prison.
If an individual has prior convictions, the court could sentence them to an even longer prison term, depending on the facts and circumstances surrounding the case.
How Can Victims Recover Compensation For a Hit and Run Accident?
Even if law enforcement cannot locate the individual who caused a hit-and-run accident, victims may still be able to recover compensation. Kansas law requires all motorists to carry Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage and Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
UM and PIP coverage allows drivers to claim vehicle damage and injuries they may have sustained in hit-and-run accidents. However, if the damages and medical expenses exceed the individual’s coverage amount, they may be left to determine how to pay the additional costs. For this reason, individuals involved in a hit-and-run accident must hire a car accident lawyer in Kansas who can protect their legal rights.
A Skilled Attorney Helping Victims Recover Compensation For a Hit and Run Accident
If you have been involved in an accident where the other driver left the scene, you must seek qualified legal representation immediately. A knowledgeable lawyer can advise you of your rights and determine what legal options may be available.
Contact Mann Wyatt Tanksley Injury Attorneys in Kansas at 877-388-8555 to schedule a free initial consultation to discuss your case.